Posted by: Steve | March 16, 2010

Eureka!

Finally found some sort of meaning for federalism.  I liked the doctrine of the federal headship of Jesus to a Christian, but I found no purpose in the federal headship of Adam.

But I guess it has to do with the law… the logic follows:

(1) A lawbreaker is more likely to justify his lawlessness and minimize sin.
(2) A group of lawbreakers is likely to minimize the gravity of sin.
(3) A purpose of God’s Law is to re-set the godly standard, addressing the lawbreakers’ minimization of sin.

So number 2 is federalism.  I think.  It’s like how morality can be shifted by culture today.

The point is that there must be union in sin.  If everyone was free-for-alling in sin, then different people would look on bad actions and sin in different magnitudes according to their personal biases:  If I break the law, I can rationalize myself; if my neighbor breaks the law and I like him or her, I can rationalize that action; if my neighbor breaks the law and I don’t like him or her, I can increase the importance of misdemeanor for him/her; and if my neighbor keeps the law and I don’t like him/her, I can try to pin some sort of criminal-like thing on them to make them look or feel bad.

But wait.  Isn’t that what happens today in the world?

Yep, that is how it works in the world in which we reside.  But it is not the theological truth.  The truth is that all sin is equally heinous in the sight of God.  While we do justify and rationalize ourselves in our daily actions toward our fellow man, there is a certain unity in the self-justification and rationalization of sin before God.  It’s almost like everyone on the planet robbed the bank of heaven, and we’re sitting in the courtroom thinking that if no one squeals, we’ll be free.  But God’s the judge and He caught us all on tape.  It’s kind of like if a lone man steals a loaf of bread to feed his family and God is judging him for stealing, we come to his aid not out of the kindness of our hearts, but because God told him not to steal and told us to feed him.

Does this makes sense to anyone else?!


Leave a comment

Categories