Posted by: Steve | March 24, 2010

Some Things Never Change

Like my green thumb and my ability to build a fire.  Huzzah!

I’ll spare y’all the boring stuff and head to the fun.  I can keep anything alive.  Anything.  I don’t care if it’s supposed to be grown two zones below Chicago.  All the roses came back (good for me, bad for my mom – she’s allergic), and some of the annuals and biennials reseeded themselves so we have fresh new flowers up front.

Also, last year I started some columbine from seed, and I was very worried that they wouldn’t make the winter, being that they only reached five leaves and two inches tall last year.  But there they were, some of the first puny little sprouts out of the ground.  I am VERY happy that they and the violas returned.

I’m such a good gardener, I even get surprise trees.  I don’t maintain some areas of the yard very often, and found a three year old buckthorn growing in a corner.  I know it was three years old because I promptly cut it down with the camping saw, counted the rings, and built a fire out of it.

Hollerback, it’s going to be a good season.


Leave a comment

Categories